Allergic to E challenge

Redefining random started this very interesting and hard challenge of writing a lipogram, a few days back. I am pretty sure, he is a fan of constrained writing. 😉 The pros of starting a challenge? You never have to perform it and secretly enjoy others sweat. :p Do I need to say more?
Was this demonic brain child of her inspired by Gadsby, which is a 1939 novel by Ernest Vincent Wright? The whole novel is written as a lipogram and does not include words that contain the letter “e”. (I know, genius!)

After completing the novel, he wrote:

As I wrote along, in long-hand at first, a whole army of little E’s gathered around my desk, all eagerly expecting to be called upon. But gradually as they saw me writing on and on, without even noticing them, they grew uneasy; and, with excited whisperings amongst themselves, began hopping up and riding on my pen, looking down constantly for a chance to drop off into some word; for all the world like seabirds perched, watching for a passing fish! But when they saw that I had covered 138 pages of typewriter size paper, they slid onto the floor, walking sadly away, arm in arm; but shouting back: “You certainly must have a hodge-podge of a yarn there without *us*! Why, man! We are in every story ever written *hundreds of thousands of times! This is the first time we ever were shut out!

I am sure, I am going to feel the same way 😦

There’s also a book named “The Void” by Georges Perec that never uses “e”. It’s a murder mystery about the death of one “Anton Vowl”, and every time a witness or suspect gets to the point where he will *HAVE TO* use a word with an “e” in it…he dies, just before he says it. ( Sounds a fun read, right? 😉 )

I got nominated by this stupendous and fun blogger, wafflemethis, who dragged me down with him for this devilish task.
My first thought after reading the rules?:
Does Mr. Rich kind of hates me or something? What wrong did I do to him? I seriously checked all the comments and likes passed between us, for the clues but found nothing. 😦 I guess, I will just have to go with it and give it a try. As I have learnt, never to back down and then again who would like to be throned as the ‘page of lame’?
So, lets do this. 8D

RULES:

1) Write a whole paragraph without any word containing the letter “e”.
2) By reading this you are already signed up.
3) Challenge at least five bloggers to do the challenge. They must do it within 24 hours or it is considered as failure.
4) If you fail or pass, suffer in the Page of Lame.
5) If you win, wallow in the Page of Fame.
6) You can check your standings on my menu, Your Standings. 😉


The lipogram:

I should first warn you about this uncommon paragraph which may or may not form any implication or any signification. You may not fathom my aim or distinguish it, but just trust your instinct and try to intuit. At first, I thought of picking up a dictionary but finally stick out to no copying. So, I will now start. Wait! What was I writing until now? With following words, I will drag it a bit. It was an auspicious day. School was off, so no class. Girls and boys did laugh and play. All had fun. At lunch, I had a lot on my dish. It was full of good food. My stomach was growling. I had a glass full of milk to start with. Corns, chips, lamb, ham, duck, tomato, potato, salmon and onion salad; hotdog and bacon all consists of my lunch, daily. I got so full, I could hardly walk! So, I took a nap.

MY NOMINEES:

moxie luster

The ugly ducklings life

isaacs picture conclusions

a bit of wiggle room

cold chicken soup

The wayward whim

its jerrod

{Just remember, I dont hate you guys. Now, I had to pick some nominees right? And your names poped up. 😀 }


Hope I did good here ;p .

-pcb

41 thoughts on “Allergic to E challenge

  1. Pingback: Thank you notes :D | poetry and chocolate and books

Leave a Reply

